In a galaxy not so far away…

This semester I am taking an introductory Astronomy class and am loving every minute of it!  We’ve been discussing material on various types of telescopes, imaging techniques and ways to visualize various types of waves in the electromagnetic spectrum. The past two weeks I have been re-learning the basics of Earth’s makeup and movement as well as  surveying the 8 planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune ( Pluto is now considered a dwarf planet). I thought I would share some interesting astronomical bits from my studies.

from http://rastervectorgraphics-jchen.blogspot.com/
FACTOID 1)
Twinkle, twinkle little star how I wonder… This age old nursery rhyme was actually put to bed this semester after I realized why stars appear to twinkle. Stars don’t really twinkle out there in distance space but rather it is atmospheric interference that causes this observed phenomenon.
from http://aa.usno.navy.mil/faq/docs/moon_phases.php
FACTOID 2)
Does the face of the moon always seem the same? Well, it should the moon synchronously rotates with the Earth leading us to only see its “bright side” rather than its “dark side.” The few humans to look upon its other side have been the astronauts exploring its surface.
from wikipedia.org
FACTOID 3)
Have you ever seen something that seemed so familiar? As I was reading my text I came across this moon of Saturn. It kind of reminded me of a popular George Lucas weapon… I was unable to confirm whether or not this was inspired by the great Death Star but I can definitely see a resemblance.
Leave a Reply

