The Alleged Perpetrators

Staphylococcus aureus

Staphylococcus aureus

Yesterday out of the blue it seemed, I contracted a nasty eye infection. I will save you all the gory details but I did want to talk about this bacterium that sent me to the doctor. Staphylococcus is its name and in small quantities this bacterium is happily living as apart of your body’s micro-flora. However, like anything else these microbes can get out of hand and may cause trouble, like my eye infection.

 

This bacteria is characterized as a gram-positive bacteria (meaning it is able to retain the crystal violet stain used during gram staining because of the high amount of peptidoglycan in the cell wall) it is round and they often appear in clusters.

In my case the treatment for my infection meant eliminating all possible bacterial contaminants and taking the prescribed eye-drop medication. I was given  Tobramycin it is a water-soluble aminoglycoside antibiotic active against a wide variety of gram-negative and gram-positive ophthalmic pathogens. This would include  Staphylococcus. Overall, I am feeling better and  am well on the path to recovery! I’m sure it only a matter of days until things are back to normal.

Leave a Reply

