Stop and go hiking: A few images from my photo journal

Today my husband and I took our annual beginning of the school year hike around Hematite Lake at LBL recreational area in Cadiz, KY.

It was a warm sunny morning when we left with our house to drive to the trail head. The trail itself  is around 2 miles. The  hike has a few mild inclines, and is shaded throughout.

I took this opportunity to bring my camera along to see if I could get a few snapshot of various late blooming wildflowers/shrubs. I did see several vines, herbs and shrubs blooming including Button bush, Japanese honeysuckle and Ironweed. Here are a few shots from our hike. I am starting to appreciate how well I can “paint with light” (with my camera). Enjoy!

Button bush with insect

Inhabitants of forrest floor

Aquatic plants

Vine on tree

Over the bridge to return home

Leave a Reply

