Exploring Chicago

Last Friday, I took a trip downtown to visit the Art Institute Museum of Chicago with a friend and before we met I decided to tour a few streets near Michigan Avenue. I took along my camera and planned on taking pictures of the buildings and other unique aspects of this large city. It was fun playing tourist in a city that I frequently pass through to go to school. This city is beautiful in its own right; it’s not the picturesque beauty of mountains and trees. Instead its beauty persists within its architecture and opportunity. Here are my digital observations of downtown Chicago:

Sign for Chicago pedway system

Sign for Chicago pedway system

After doing a little research behind this sign I discovered that Chicago has a underground pedestrian walkway system that connects around 50 buildings in the downtown business district.  This was an exciting discovery for me. Click here to read more on the pedway system!

Looking north on  Michigan avenue

Looking north on Michigan avenue

Michigan avenue is one of the more well known streets of downtown Chicago. It is a shopper’s delight but it is also home to Millennium park and the Art Institute Museum of Chicago.

An interesting clock near Wacker

An interesting clock near Wacker

I found this clock on a building at the corner of Wacker drive and Wabash Avenue.  I know it is hard to see but surrounding the face of this clock is a circle of red lights. This just adds to my bewilderment over the clock, with the bearded angel-like character holding a scythe and  hour glass.

A tribute to American Gothic

A tribute to American Gothic

I had to take a picture of this sculpture! Its a rendition of one my favorite regionalist painter’s works, American Gothic. Grant Wood was an Iowan  just like me!

Road Closure

Road Closure

Hopefully drivers would not need the sign to tell them that they could not travel on this road. This is actually one of the road bridges that cross the Chicago River. I  find it fascinating to see the the bridges open and the road pointing towards the heavens.

Looking southwest on Michigan avenue

Looking southwest on Michigan avenue

I just wanted to capture some of the people traveling on the sidewalks of Michigan avenue and the detailed relief work on one of the bridge’s pillars.

Item found on bridge

Item found on bridge

This life preserver I found in a glass case on the Michigan avenue bridge. I like how the picture captures not only the preserver but the reflection of the buildings, cars and people on the sidewalk.

Chicago athletic association building

Chicago athletic association building

I really enjoyed the patterning in the architecture of this building. I also enjoy seeing the size of the building relative to the people on the sidewalk below.

Two famous streets

Two famous streets

Since I did my post on Paul Harvey and learned that there was a street in Chicago named after him I had an urge to find this street and take a picture. The other street, the Magnificent Mile,  is another name used for North Michigan avenue.

Window washer

Window washer

What a perfect day to wash a window! It seems like everyone is doing some spring cleaning.  I could not imagine  sitting on a board, way up there washing windows.

A way of touring Chicago

A way of touring Chicago

This was a bit of  satiric moment. I was a “native” tourist taking pictures of a tourist on a segway. There are so many ways to tour Chicago, boat, train, foot, bus, car or segway.

Art museum greeter

Art museum greeter

This is one of two green lions marking the entrance to the art institute museum. This is the end of my picture exploration. Hope you enjoyed!

One thought on “Exploring Chicago

  1. What a great collection of interesting ‘textures’ of Chicago. I’m partial to the American Gothic. Love the suitcase. But the green lion is superb!

Leave a Reply

