More than just a light bulb

lightbulb1

Image from GE's website

Recently I invested in a few energy-smart light bulbs but probably not for the purpose that you’re thinking (not that there is anything wrong with that). I have been doing a lot of research on color management of LCD displays and projection.

You would not believe what must be taken into consideration when you are trying to match the color of your computer screen with what you print or an image you’re projecting. Alas, I will not go into all of this.

What I will tell you is a simple way that you can control one of the factors of how color displays on your monitor, by controlling the light in your room and the environment around your computer. I’m sure you have noticed that there is a difference in brightness, and color of light emitted from your respective lamps. Well, the factors you can control are the color and brightness of your lamp, and the objects around your computer (make sure they are neutral in color)! My suggestion for a  light bulb is General Electric’s energy-smart, daylight, fluorescent bulb. Since I changed my bulb I have definitely seen more consistency in how my color is displayed on my monitor. Another key factor is to make sure you have consistent lighting conditions.

If you’re looking for more information on color management among digital devices check out:

Overview of Color Management

International Color Consortium

2 thoughts on “More than just a light bulb

  1. You’ve calibrated your monitor, right? System preferences –> displays –> color –> calibrate? I mean, if you’ve done enough research to go out and buy light bulbs, I’m sure you have… but I’m just puttin’ it out there for any Googlers who find your post while searching for monitor color management techniques. 🙂

    • Good addition to the color management discussion! You can calibrate your monitor. I’m not sure what the stats are on how often you should. But I do know that is one of the first things you generally do when you get a new computer is calibrate the monitor. I neglected to discuss this point just because there is more than 1 operating system out there between PC and macs and then you have different versions of those operating systems based upon the era of your dear computer. I assume you are using Leopard – and you’re a Mac gal?

Leave a Reply

